We Are losing More Electronic Resources


Many companies have had to cut back on services that are offered to the public because of budget constraints. The Library is also experiencing challenges in regards to services that we offer.

Many online resources will no longer be available, so we will try and offer alternative electronic resources or other sources that may contain the same of similar information. Please remember, we are trying to provide the best service in times of a down economy and we appreciate your understanding.

Starting July 1, 2010, the following resources will no longer be available through the library’s electronic resources;

Oxford English Dictionary Online
Oxford Reference Online
Ulrich Periodicals Directory

Oxford English Dictionary Online – As an alternative to this source, you can use many of the dictionaries that are available at no charge on the Internet. Here are some that we recommend;

  • Merriam Webster Online Dictionary– Free online version of the Merriam-Webster English dictionary, with searchable dictionary definitions, thesaurus, and a student dictionary for kids.

Oxford Reference Online – Another great source to use that will give you as much information as this one is Gale Virtual Reference Library. This full-text electronic resource  contains ebooks of encyclopedias, almanacs and specialized reference sources across a variety of subjects.

This electronic resource provides many ways in which you can search for information. These include, the basic search, the subject guide search, the advanced search and the publication search.

Basic Search – Simply enter a tile in the search box and you will get a results list.

Subject Guide Search – Enter a subject in the search box and use any of the limiters such as publication date, publication title or document type to narrow your results.

Advanced Search – The Advanced search feature allows you to use the Boolean operators, and, not and or to narrow your results. You can also narrow your results list by the limiters provided, which include publication title, publication date, subject area and target audience.

Publication Search – Simply click on a subject from the list. You can expand the results list by clicking on the plus or minus sign.


Ulrich Periodicals Directory – Unfortunately, there is no alternative to using this electronic resource. We have discovered that this electronic resource is available at the University of Las Vegas-Nevada. This resource can only be accessed in person at the Lied Library.

As you can see, there are still electronic resources that will contain information to help in your research. Do you find the replacement electronic resource fun and easy to use? Why or why not?

We’re Losing More Databases!


Many companies have had to cut back on services that are offered to the public because of budget constraints. The Library is also experiencing challenges in regards to services that we offer. In the near future, you will begin to notice that we have made several changes to our electronic resources. Many sources will no longer be available, so we will try and offer alternative electronic resources or other sources that may contain the same of similar information. Please remember, we are trying to provide the best service in times of a down economy and we appreciate your understanding.

After June, 2010, the following resources will no longer be available through the library’s electronic resources;

1. Grolier Online
2. Grove Encyclopedia of Art
3. Grove Encyclopedia of Music

1. Grolier Online – This electronic resource contained many encyclopedias that could be searched all at once. Instead, you can try World Book. World Book allows you to Search all encyclopedia articles, multimedia, periodical, e-book, and primary source databases in a single search, or use our image search to focus on the site’s multimedia collection. You can find all the information you need on any research topic,

You can search the following categories in World Book Info Finder to find information;

  • World Newspapers
  • World Book Explorers
  • Current Events
  • Research Tools
  • Science Projects
  • Biography Center

You can find information using the following search methods;

  • Search box
  • A-Z
  • By subject
  • Images and Videos
  • Dictionary
  • Advanced Search

2.Grove Encyclopedia of Art – We have no electronic resource that you can use instead of this one, but we have an entire “Hot Topic” that will help with many of your art needs. The “Hot Topics” is a place where you can find websites, books, databases and much more. Each “Hot Topic” is devoted to one subject area.

To find the Hot Topics, follow these simple instructions;

  1. Go to our homepage, lvccld.org
  2. Click on Find Information
  3. Click on Hot Topics
  4. Under General Reference, click on Art

3. Grove Encyclopedia of Music – There are a few resources to use to get information on music.

For Composers –  Biography Resource Center is the best place if you need information on any composers. You can either enter the name in the search box, or you can use the Biographical Facts Search and find various composers by using the Occupation limiter.

For Music History –  Student Research Center covers a broad range of general topics designed to assist middle school and high school students. Includes a dictionary, an encyclopedia, with the ability to search by topic.

As you can see, there are still electronic resources that will contain information to help in your research. Do you find this electronic resource fun and easy to use? Why or why not?

Databases to be cut!


Many companies have had to cut back on services that are offered to the public because of budget constraints. The Library is also experiencing challenges in regards to services that we offer. In the near future, you will begin to notice that we have made several changes to our electronic resources.

Many sources will no longer be available, so we will try and offer alternative electronic resources or other sources that may contain the same of similar information. Please remember, we are trying to provide the best service in times of a down economy and we appreciate your understanding.

After June, 2010, the following resources will no longer be available through the library’s electronic resources;

  1. College Source
  2. Commentary
  3. Credo Reference

We are sure you can find what you are looking for in the suggested electronic resources or other sources, so give them a try. Remember, in order to use our electronic resources from home, you must be a resident of the Las Vegas taxing district with a valid library card number and pin. If not, you can always use these at any of our libraries.

1. As an alternative to American Indian History and Culture, try The Biography Resource Center if you need biographies on Native Americans. Just use the biographical facts tab and then use as many limiters as possible, such as ethnicity, gender, occupation and more.
2. Use Nevada Career and Information Systems (NCIS) as an alternative to College Source. NCIS has all the colleges in each state. You can find the following information in NCIS under the Education and Training tab;

  • Programs of Study
  • Undergraduate School Sort
  • Graduate School Sort
  • U.S. Schools
  • Apprenticeships
  • Paying for School
  • Financial Aid Sort
  • Practical Learning Activities
3. No more Commentary, but you can find lots of information in Opposing Viewpoints. Opposing Viewpoints has articles featuring the latest pros and cons for many subject areas. You can enter a search term in the search box or simply select from the list provided. How simple is that?
4. Credo Reference is also disappearing soon, but you can use Student Research Center for all your research needs. The Student Research Center covers a broad range of general topics designed to assist middle school and high school students. Includes a dictionary, an encyclopedia, with the ability to search by topic.

As you can see, there are still electronic resources that will contain information to help in your research. Do you find any of these electronic resources fun and easy to use? Why or why not?

What is Hanukkah?


During the month of December, several religious as well as non-religious holidays are celebrated. Ever wondered what these holidays mean and who typically celebrates them?

You say, well I can get this information from the Internet. Well let me give you some reasons why the Internet is not always the best source for information.

Internet vs. Electronic Resources
1. Internet has lots of information, but all of it is not credible. Information from electronic resources comes from books, magazines and journals.

2. Many teachers do not want information from the Internet. Well, since our electronic resources come from the various sources listed above, these are ok to use.

Ok, is that enough information to see why electronic resources are far better to use than the Internet? Great, then let’s get started on finding out about Hanukkah.

There are many sources to choose from, but let’s start with Credo Reference. In this source, you can search many ways, but we will only go through two ways and you can play around with the others ways in order to become more familiar with this source.

1. Basic Search – Simply enter the search term in the box and then click search. The next page will display a list of results.
2. If you look to the left of the results list, you can Narrow your search by, subject, entry type, media, person, publication and more categories. Let’s click on definition under entry type.

3. Ok, now you have a list of results, simply click on one of the articles, or insert a check mark in the box next to the article to save the items selected. How easy was that?
4. Don’t forget! Anytime you use a source, you must cite the article. Credo makes this so easy for you. Simply scroll to the bottom of the article and click on the type of citation you want, APA, MLA, etc. Next, click on the drop down arrow under, save citation to and select from the list. It will automatically format the citation for you, how cool is that?

The next way to search is by using the Image Search Tab.
1. Image Search – Simply click on the image search tab. Next, enter the search term in the box.
2. Again, you will see that you can narrow your results. Click on definition, once again. This will allow you to see images on the menorah and the dreidel.


3. To use a copy of the picture for your paper, simply place the cursor over the image and then click the right side of your mouse and select copy. Now go back to your report and place the cursor where you want the image and right click on the mouse again, but this time click paste.

This is a great way to do your report using credible sources.

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month


How many of us either know someone who has died or has been diagnosed with breast cancer?

Q: How many deaths as a result of cancer are estimated to occur in the United States in 2009?
According to the American Cancer Society (ACS), an estimated 40,610 breast cancer deaths are expected in 2009 (40,170 women, 440 men). (American Cancer Society website, retrieved 9/28/09)

These statistics are startling! If you are not sure where to go for authoritative information, check out our Health and Wellness Database.

Remember, as always you will need to be a Las Vegas Resident with a valid library card number and PIN to access this information. Just go to our Databases A-Z page and select health and Wellness Resource Center from the list.

There are several things you can do in this electronic resource.

1. You can find a list of agencies in your area that specialize in a certain disease or illness. Once you are in the database, click on Directories from the top tabs. Then enter your search term in the box. I entered Cancer. Next, enter the city and then select your state from the drop down menu.

health and wellness

This will give you a list of agencies in your city. Just click on one for the contact information and also information about the agency.

health and wellness 2

2. This electronic resource also has websites that we recommend because we find them to non-commercial, yet authoritative.

To get to these sites, simply click on Trusted sites from the tabs on the toolbar. You can either see if there is a site that is devoted to the illness you are looking for (American Cancer Society) or you can use a resource like Medline Plus that will contain information on multiple illnesses and diseases.

One thing I especially like about this trusted site (Medline Plus) is that you can view results in English or Spanish, just by clicking the language toggle button in the top right hand corner.

medline plus

Look at some of the other features of this database and come back and let us know how you have found this resource useful.