New Stamp Just for National Poetry Month


America’s Best Poets
The U.S. Postal Service is marking National Poetry Month with the release on April 21 of a new stamp pane honoring 10 of America’s best 20th-century poets. Each of the stamps features a black-and-white photo of one of the acclaimed poets: Elizabeth Bishop, Joseph Brodsky, Gwendolyn Brooks, E.E. Cummings, Robert Hayden, Denise Levertov, Sylvia Plath, Theodore Roethke, Wallace Stevens and William Carlos Williams. Mailing a love letter? Adorn it with a stamp of E.E. Cummings, whose many well-known poems include the wistfully romantic “I carry your heart with me.” Crafting a letter of apology? Consider a stamp of William Carlos Williams, who penned “This Is Just To Say” as a half-hearted apology to his wife for eating those famous plums. You can also enjoy more of the work of these noted poets and many others by checking out The Penguin Anthology of 20th Century American Poetry, a new collection edited by former U.S. Poet Laureate Rita Dove.

One thought on “New Stamp Just for National Poetry Month

  1. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the information you present here about obesity and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, good blog!

Leave a Reply

