Brain teaser – Famous Last Words


People often utter “famous last words” – memorable things they say just before they die. Can you say who is believed (not always reliably!) to have uttered these famous last words?

Need help? Try our online resource Credo Reference for the answers.

1. I expect I shall have to die beyond my means (or “Either that wall paper goes, or I do”).

2. Thy necessity is greater than mine.

3. I am just going outside and may be some time.

4. I shall hear in heaven.

5. Et tu, Brute (You too, Brutus?).

6. I think I could eat one of Bellamy’s veal pies.

7. I realize that patriotism is not enough. I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone.

8. All my possessions for a moment of time.

9. Well, I’ve had a happy life.

10. How were the receipts today in Madison Square Garden?

Questions set by Tony Augarde, author of The Oxford Guide to Word Games.

Leave a Reply

